Your speaker will be Alan Peter Cayetano, to share term with Velasco: Duterte

President Rodrigo Duterte announced during the mass oath-taking ceremony of newly appointed government officials at the Rizal Hall in Malacañan Palace on July 8 that Taguig-Pateros Representative Alan Peter Cayetano will be the House of Representatives Speaker.

“I think it’s about time I talk. So your speaker will be Alan Peter Cayetano,” President Duterte said.

President Duterte added that Cayetano will be sharing term with Marinduque Representative Lord Allan Jay Velasco. He also said that Leyte First District Representative Martin Romualdez will be Majority Floor Leader.

“I tried to distance myself, but apparently I said it’s time that I talk,” he added.