State, local universities, colleges sign agreement implementing free tuition, school fees

Today, a total of 112 state universities and colleges (SUCs) and 78 local universities and colleges (LUCs) signed the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) to launch the implementation of Republic Act No. 10931 or the ‘Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act.’

The signing was witnessed by President Rodrigo Duterte at the Rizal Hall of Malacañan Palace.

Republic Act No. 10931 provides free tuition and other school fees in SUCs, local universities and colleges and state-run technical vocational institutions.

The law, signed by President Duterte in August 2017, also establishes tertiary education subsidy and student loan program and strengthens the Unified Student Financial Assistance System for Tertiary Education.