Secretary Lorenzana leads signing of IRR on law granting privileges to Medal of Valor awardees

Defense Secretary Delfin N. Lorenzana led the signing of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA 9049, “An Act Granting Monthly Gratuity and Privileges to an Awardee of the Medal of Valor (MOV),” during a ceremony attended by heads of various government agencies, held at the Department of National Defense (DND) on July 31, 2019.

Secretary Lorenzana was joined by Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis-Briones, Health Assistant Secretary Elmer G. Punzalan – who represented Health Secretary Francisco T. Duque III, Transportation Secretary Arthur P. Tugade, Environment and Natural Resources Secretary Roy A. Cimatu, Agrarian Reform Secretary John R. Castriones, Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo M. Año, Commission on Higher Education Chairperson J Prospero E. De Vera III, Jr., Architect Susana Nonato – who represented National Housing General Manager Marcelino P Escalada, Jr., AFP Chief of Staff Gen Benjamin R Madrigal Jr, and Civil Service Commission Chairperson Alicia Dela Rosa-Bala.

“I am very delighted that finally, we have signed today the IRR of Republic Act 9049, a law that intends to upgrade the support of the government to our Medal of Valor awardees and their families and to perpetuate their heroism,” Secretary Lorenzana said in his speech before MOV awardees and other guests.

The law, which was passed in 2001, mandates the provision for adequate social services and financial reward or a lifetime monthly gratuity to Medal of Valor awardees and dependents of deceased MOV Awardees. On December 22, 2016, President Rodrigo Duterte signed a memorandum increasing the monthly gratuity of MOV Awardees from PHP20,000.00 to PHP75,000.00. DND