Sabah should be included in proposed federal system – Nene Pimentel

Former Senator Aquilino “Nene” Pimentel Jr., a member of consultative committee formed by President Rodrigo Duterte which will review the current constitution, proposed that Sabah should be included in the federal territories to be created under the new constitution that is being crafted.

There should be a way that is acceptable under international laws to assert our claim to Sabah,” Pimentel told ANC on January 30. “I think we can defer it a little bit more but to say that we stop doing it is not in the context of my proposal.”

Pimentel’s proposal includes the formation of 12 federal states, namely: Northern Luzon, Central Luzon, Southern Luzon, Bicol, Eastern Visayas, Central Visayas, Western Visayas, Minparom (Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon, Marinduque), Northern Mindanao, Southern Mindanao, Bangsamoro, and Federal Administrative State Manila.

Each federal state will have a capital city.

“Eventually once we have asserted our sovereignty and rights over Sabah, we should include Sabah. Not only Sabah, but also Scarborough, Benham Rise, and Spratlys,” Pimentel said.

Nene Pimentel is the father of current Senate President Aquilino ‘Koko’ Pimentel III.