Ranking communist leader nabbed in QC

Authorities arrested a high-ranking leader of the central committee of the Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) in Quezon City on Monday.

Philippine National Police (PNP) chief, Gen. Oscar Albayalde, identified the suspect as Esterlita Suaybaguio, secretary of the Metro Manila Regional Party Committee (MMRPC) of the CPP-NPA.

Suaybaguio was arrested in a search warrant operation in her unit at Escalades Condominium Tower 5, 20th Avenue, Cubao, Quezon City at around 1:50 a.m., for illegal possession of firearms.

Suaybaguio, a former professor in Tagum City, Davao del Norte, was secretary of the communist movement’s Southern Mindanao Regional Party Committee and Komisyon Mindanao (KOMMID).

She was handpicked by the CPP’s Central Committee to jumpstart and lead the resurgence of communism in Metro Manila.

The National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) and the military’s Joint Task Force NCR conducted the operation by virtue of a search warrant issued by Quezon City Regional Trial Court (RTC) Branch 89 Judge Cecilyn E. Burgos-Villavert on August 23, for violations of Republic Act 10591 (Comprehensive Firearms and Ammunition Regulation Act); and of Section 3 of Presidential Decree 1866 as amended by Republic Act 9516 (Unlawful Manufacture, Sales, Acquisition, Disposition, Importation or Possession of an Explosive or Incendiary Device).

Recovered during the search were one 9mm pistol with SN JPS 101866, one magazine assembly with seven rounds of ammunition; one hand grenade; and subversive documents.

The suspect is also facing three previous cases — for multiple murder, for multiple frustrated murder and for the murder of Patrolman Ronald U. Napalan Jr. at Sitio Lobo, Brgy. Mahaba, Cabadbaran City last June 29.

The suspect was brought to the Criminal Investigation and Detection Unit (CIDU) of the Quezon City Police District for booking procedures and medical examination.

The CPP-NPA is listed as a terrorist organization by the United States, European Union, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the Philippines. PNA.GOV.PH