Philippines lifts travel ban to China, except Hubei

The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) has released a statement clarifying the lifting of travel ban to China, except Hubei Province adopted in the March 12, 2020 Resolution of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Disease (IATF) on measures to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

The DFA clarified that the lifting of the travel ban covers the following:

1. Returning overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) who are able to present valid visas and/or work permits, OEC, notarized declaration of their knowledge and understanding of the risks, and other relevant documents pertaining to their current employment in mainland China as may be required by immigration authorities. It also covers Filipinos with permanent resident visas; and

2. Filipino government officials traveling to mainland China on official duty.

Excluded in the said lifting of the travel ban are: 1. OFWs on first-time deployment to mainland China; 2. students; 3. dependents of OFWs; and
4. tourists.

“The public is informed that these guidelines are regularly reviewed by the IATF and any changes will be communicated in due course,” DFA said.