Philippine Fleet celebrates 80th year as vanguard of country’s seas

Philippine Navy’s Philippine Fleet held an event on April 23 to celebrate its 80th Founding Anniversary with “Eighty Years of Commitment, Perseverance and Faith towards a Strong and Credible Navy” as theme.

The event was held at Suarez Hall, NBHA, Sangley Point, Cavite City. Navy Flag Officer-in-Command Vice Admiral Robert A. Empedrad attended the activity as guest of honor and speaker.

Philippine Fleet said that as vanguard of the country’s seas, it will continue and always be committed in its vision to be strong and credible that our maritime nation can be proud of.

During the event outstanding units, personnel, vessels, aircraft and stakeholders of the fleet who have made significant contributions toward the accomplishment of fleet’s mission were awarded.

Among the awardees were BRP Gregorio del Pilar (FF-15) as offshore combatant ship of the year, BRP Ivatan (LC-298) as sealift amphibious ship of the year, naval helicopter 435 as naval aircraft of the year, operations officer of BRP Andres Bonifacio Lt. Cmdr. Jennifer S. Monforte as officer of the year, Engineman Secondclass Edwin D. de Guzman of BRP Bagobo (LC293) as enlisted personal of the year, and Head Mason/Carpenter Erwin O. Refuerzo as civilian employee of the year.