Indonesia wins seat to UN Security Council

Germany, Indonesia, South Africa, the Dominican Republic and Belgium were voted to be part of the 15-member United Nations (UN) Security Council starting January 1, 2019 for a 2-year term.

“In a single round of voting on Friday, the United Nations General Assembly elected five new non-permanent Members of the Security Council, who will each serve two-year terms on the body that sets the UN’s whole peace and security agenda,” the UN Security Council said in statement.

“Belgium and Germany; the Dominican Republic, and South Africa, ran unopposed from their respective regional groups, while Indonesia secured its place following a run-off with the Maldives for the Asia-Pacific Group seat,” it added.

The UN Security Council is composed of five permanent members: China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States; and 10 non-permanent members which currently: Bolivia (2018), Côte d’Ivoire (2019), Equatorial Guinea (2019), Ethiopia (2018), Kazakhstan (2018), Kuwait (2019), Netherlands (2018), Peru (2019), Poland (2019), and Sweden (2018).

The five newly elected countries will fill in seats to be vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Netherlands and Sweden.

“Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has the primary responsibility for international peace and security, with all UN Member States required to comply with Council decisions,” the UN Security Council said.

It added that the Council’s ten non-permanent seats, are allocated according to a rotation pattern set by the Assembly in 1963, to ensure fair regional representation on the Council: five from African and Asian and Pacific States; one from Eastern Europe; two from Latin American States; and two from Western European and Other States (WEOG).