Construction of Common Station 24/7: DOTr

The Department of Transportation (DOTr) has released a photo update of the ongoing 24/7 construction of Unified Grand Central Station (UGCS) also known as the Common Station for four railway lines – the LRT-1, MRT-3, the upcoming MRT-7, and Metro Manila Subway. 

DOTr photo

DOTr said that the Common Station is a 13,700-square meter concourse comprised of three areas: Area A under the DOTr, Area B under Ayala Land Inc., and Area C under the MRT-7 Project facilitated by San Miguel Corporation (SMC).

DOTr said the Common Station will feature a transit area for the riding public, operated by an automated fare collection system, which will give commuters better point-to-point mobility and comfort.

Since the groundbreaking in 2017, Ayala Land Inc. has started the construction of Area B.

“The 24/7 operations commenced immediately after the groundbreaking ceremony on 13 February 2019 for the Common Station’s Area A,” DOTr said. “Area A is set to be completed by 2020, while the entire Common Station is expected to be operational by 2022.”